The Oklahoma Secondary Schools Activities Association announced the football classifications and districts for the 2020-21 and 2021-22 school years on Thursday. While many Southwest Oklahoma schools stayed put, several will be in new districts and at least six area teams will be in new classifications altogether.

All three Lawton schools, as well as Cache and Elgin, all remain in their prior districts. However, they will each see a new face in district play. Lawton High remains in 6A-II District 1, as do previous district foes Del City, Midwest City, Edmond Deer Creek and state runner-up Stillwater. However, there will be three new faces in the district, with the additions of Class 6A-I move-down Putnam City North, Class 5A move-up Northwest Classen and former independent U.S. Grant. Putnam City moved to 6A-I, while Choctaw and PC West moved to 6A-II District 2.

The MacArthur Highlanders see all the same faces in Class 5A-1, except for another OKC team that was previously independent, Capitol Hill. Also in Class 5A, Eisenhower stays in District 2, which saw Western Heights move over from District 1 to replace NW Classen.

As has become a trend, Anadarko once again was reclassified, marking the fourth time in the last five reclassification cycles for the Warriors to change class. After two seasons in District 4A-1, ‘Darko moves back down to Class 3A. But instead of their previous dwelling of District 3, the purple and gold will be included in one of the toughest districts in the state, District 1, with the likes of Kingfisher, Perkins-Tryon and Heritage Hall. However, the district did lose John Marshall, who moved up to Class 4A District 2.

In losing Anadarko, Cache and Elgin gained a daunting new district bunkmate in the form of Bethany, who finished runner-up in 2018 and was Class 4A’s No. 1 team through much of the 2019 season before being upset in the state quarterfinals by Wagoner.

Anadarko will be the only area team in Class 3A as Marlow moves down to Class 2A. They were placed in District 4, where they will play area schools Comanche and Class A move-up Frederick.

In Class A, District 2 will be the “Southwest District” for all intents and purposes, as Apache and Walters move over from District 4 to join Mangum, Hobart and former independent team Hollis, as well as Cordell and Minco. Entering the fray is Carnegie, who will move up from 8-man ball. Rush Springs and state champion Ringling stay in District 4.

Moving down to the 8-man ranks, Class B sees plenty of change, especially in Districts 3 and 4. Carnegie and Burns Flat-Dill City have both left District 3 — and 8-man football altogether. Central High, Empire and Waurika move over from District 4 to join holdovers Cyril and Snyder. But the big addition is the arrival of former Class C power Tipton. From 2011-18, the Tigers won five Class C state championships and reached the state championship all but one year. Meanwhile, Velma-Alma joins District 4 after going unbeaten in its first year of 8-man football.

Grandfield, Temple and Mt. View-Gotebo remain in District C-2.

Recommended for you