You are here

Comanche Indian Veteran Association announces new officers for 2018-2019

New officers have been elected to helm the Comanche Indian Veterans Association (CIVA) into 2018-2019.

CIVA officers were elected during monthly meeting Saturday.

Former Commander Kevin Pohawpatchoko was elected as commander, Vice Commander Roger Tehauno and Secretary Clifford Takawana was both re-elected for second two-year terms, Lanny Asepermy was elected treasurer and Joseph Plata as the sergeant at arms. 

Jimmy Caddo was reappointed as the chaplain, Linda Tehauno as the Auxiliary leader and Roger Tehauno as the Historian. Asepermy was appointed as the quartermaster and color guard coordinator and will assist Tehauno as the historian. The appointments were made by the incoming commander. Asepermy will also continue as the public information officer and George Red Elk as the military marker placement detail coordinator, and Plata has been designated as the bugler. The Tehaunos are the photographers for the organization.

"The CIVA would like to thank former Commander Ron Mahsetky, Treasurer (and former Commander) George Red Elk, Sergeant at Arms Lonnie Henderson and Quartermaster and Color Guard Coordinator Flavio Noriega for their service the past two years," Asepermy said.

The officers and appointees assume their duties Jan. 1, 2018.

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620