You are here

Election results in leadership turmoil in Comanche Nation

In a chaotic week following last Saturday's Comanche Nation general election, all results have been certified except for the chairperson position.

According to a statement released by the Comanche Nation Thursday, the Comanche Business Committee certified all the results except for the chair position because of the passage and certification of educational requirements for the post that were approved by the voters in that same election. The Business Committee was precluded from certifying the chairperson race.

The resolution, offered by Norman Nauni during the April 21 general council meeting and passed by voters 776-527, made having a bachelor's degree a minimum requirement for serving in the position.

Witnesses and video from Tuesday's meeting revealed that Chairman William Nelson left the meeting when the quorum of Business Committee members took the action. Nelson and Billy Komahcheet were disqualified from eligibility for office, to be decided with the June 23 run-off election. By this action, Vice Chair Susan Cothren and June E. Sovo would be the candidates on the run-off ballot, having come in third and fourth, respectively, in the vote. 

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK 73501
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620